The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Galgos

This is the interior of Galgos, the Venezuelan restaurant in the old Greyhound pub in Stroud. It's been around for years, but I've only just ventured in for the first time. I was not disappointed.

V had suggested that she take me out somewhere to thank me for summer favours Inc. the storage of her furniture in the cabin, and as we were both keen to try it, we went to Galgos. The food  served on small plates, like tapas. I would have chosen the shredded beef stew and rice, but it was off limits. V had shredded chicken instead, and I had fried plantains slices with cheese balls on top.(yes, it was strange!). We also shared some delicious nachos, and I had a capirinha. All good, apart from the cheese balls. Will definitely go again. 

As it was a night for trying new things, we went on to a new real ale bar in the high street. The interior eas a bit too strioped-down for me : white walls, bench style seating, not much else, but the place seemed popular with tall young beardies, who all went upstairs, where there was music. A group on the bench next to ours had brought something in a box: it turned out to be a brand new Jenga set! They proceeded to play.  This may be a Thing now. I'd be the last to know! 

Another early night for me. Steve is still poorly, with Market Trader's Lung. They've all had this virus, apparently. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.