Teasel

By Teasel

Benches

It was so nice not to have to get up for work today.  The storm was battering outside, it was very wet, windy and wild.  It was nice to be safe and warm indoors.   I had no plans, so pottered.  It felt like a soup day, so I retrieved a few vegetables that have probably languished in the fridge a bit too long and made a big pot of vegetable broth.  I also baked, a quick batch of muffins – my baking supplies need to be replenished, so this was about as much as I could run to.
 
Late morning, I noticed the rain had gone off, so I ventured out for some bread.  I took a detour by the river.  I thought it would have more water in it than it did.  It was then home for soup and cheese toasties for lunch. 
 
I checked in with  my mum and dad, who are in the red weather zone.  They are fine.  They had had a power cut earlier in the day, but it had come on again.  My dad just hopes it doesn’t go off again, as he needs his electric blanket when he goes to bed!!  He made me laugh - first world problems!!
 
Later in the afternoon when the rain had gone off again, I dared to venture out for a quick walk, to get my steps in.  It did start to rain when I was out, but thankfully it wasn’t very heavy. 
 
I raided the fridge for tea.  We were all delighted that BB’s football training was off, so no one had to venture out.  We spent the evening on the sofa.
 
I hardly met a soul on my walk around by the river.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.