Capital adventures

By marchmont

Connections

My wallpaper is connecting lines that intersect and move you round the room in the same way that Blip moves me round the world.

I've been blipping continuously since I joined on 29 December 2010 though there are earlier backblips. My first Blip blip was of a connection, a first cousin, twice removed.  That young lady is a teenager now.

Like many blippers I have made real connections over the last 13 years.  Some blippers have been transient friends and moved on to other things like Alan.  Some were friends before and followed me to Blip but no longer have time, another A.  There were those I met at Blipmeets in Edinburgh, met for coffee, Lady Findhorn and Sally, bumped into in Anstruther, Meles and Dave, met at work meetings and then bumped into in a restaurant in Glasgow, Four Story. And then there is Laura, also in Glasgow, who I knew years ago in Aberdeenshire and was delighted to connect up with again and my friend (another A) who turns up in Flumgummery's blips from time to time. There are people I have never met but have followed for years and feel like they are friends - Barking who has recently stopped blipping daily. I started following her when she was volunteering after the Christchurch earthquake and got to know her life in NZ and her beloved dog and cat.  And shared her joy as she moved to Australia and married and is now there with a new family, new dog and cat and a new occupation. And along with the blippers I've never met but know so well are folk like Rob, now based in Tanzania, but who I met in Phnom Penh,  Walking Wombat that I stayed with in the Blue Mountains in 2020 and through her met the Blackheath Photography group and their blippers. Who knows I might get another chance to meet up with her and her new partner now they live in Western Australia. And of course the legendary Tussock Tales that I met in Wanaka just before NZ locked down in February 2020 and met that amazing group of S Island blippers.

But the long tentacles of Blip have made connections with other blipper's families.  When #2 son connected with another Scot in Kuala Lumpur during Covid he discovered they were connected through Blip.  His new mate's mum is Dogwithnobrain and we'd followed each other for ages and since Covid have met up in Troon.  How weird was that? 

Blip not only allows me to save my life one day at a time but it shas also created this amazing friendly community and I am so glad  to be part of it.  Keep on blipping indeed!

And the rest of the day: the weather remained damp and dreich till mid afternoon and the stories form Brechin were not good.  I worked and tried to sort out funding reports and then went out to collect the framed water colours. 

By the time I got back the sun had come out and blue sky had returned.  I how that is the last we see of Storm Babet.  Watched Strictly, read some of one of the Paris books and checked the weather for next weekend, looks like it will be dry for Versailles.

Then an early night.  That's another blip day over. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.