WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Worth the trip

I hadn’t told anyone in the village I was back this weekend, and since I’ve barely been at home I have largely gone unnoticed. Cue general astonishment when I pitched up at the soirée vin nouveau, coincidentally this weekend, when I got back from a day’s choir practice (hard work!). “I thought you were in Spain!” spluttered M. le Maire. “Well, I had to come back to taste the new wine.”

(Whisper) The wine was actually not worth the trip. But as well as saying hello to most of the usual suspects, I was delighted to find I had managed to catch German friends H and M, and also Scottish friends A and B, who are just here for a couple of weeks. They’re only here two or three times a year, so it was great to catch up. It was a pleasant evening, albeit slightly chilly. There was singing and dancing in the street, of course, but it was all done by midnight. Too busy chatting, but I took a handful of photos.

Too late to blip, hence back blip on Sunday evening after a 12-hour day out of the house … today’s blip will probably be done on the train tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.