curns' corner

By curns

London bound

The walk along the coat to Seaview is 2.75 miles and take me about 50 minutes. This morning was a little quieter than yesterday with fewer people out asking their dogs but there was somebody in the sea. Given the outside temperature is about 10ºc I can only imagine the sea was cooler.  But the sun was out and the sky was blue so I imagine it was bracing. Last week, I mentioned that I was not enjoying my London-based walks as much as I used to.  The opposite holds true here: I’ve loved the coupe of days I have been able to get out to see the sea before work.

I came back to work from the spare room that I use as an office while I am on The Island. I don’t have a view of the sea but I do have a view of playing fields whee the grass hasn’t been mown for a few weeks. The benefit of not cutting the grass is that the daisies are out in full focus at the moment so there’s a green carpet specked with white. I am too far away to properly appreciate the yellow centre.   There have been a few people out all day on the field. It’s mainly dog walkers that I see but occasionally a group of young people hang around one of the benches. Today, there were a couple of families picnicking on the grass. PY was intrigued why they chose a playing field from where there are only views of houses and flats on the horizon when you could have chosen to be closer to the sea. I suspect keeping toddlers away from sand makes it easier when you get home.

We toasted bagels and cooked some low-fat bacon in the air fryer for lunch and paired it with some salad. It took a bit longer than I thought to put it together because i found myself rushing to my 2pm call. I was only listening into the last of the Product Updates: this time on our watermarking product.

By 6:15pm I was on my way out of the house and on to the boat for the train to Raynes Park. The sun has been out for a lot of the day and the crossing was lovey. Often, by the time we are approaching the Spinnaker tower I am starting to look at my watch to gauge if I am going to make the connection. Today, I decided to watch the blue sky and let whatever happened, happen. Of course, there was plenty of time today.

There was a bit of a delay at one point as there was a person on a level crossing so my initial train ran late which left me just a couple of minutes to change a Woking. I decided it was worth running to make the connection, which I did. There was a further connection at Surbiton which was only a couple of minutes which meant I could nip to the Co-op for dinner.   I came back with some pork belly and decided to do a stir-fry.  There were no pre-sliced vegetable packets in the shop so I ended up with many more vegetables than I needed but I managed to put together a lovely dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.