curns' corner

By curns

St Margarets?

Up and on the platform by 8:10am and, once again, I was struck by the birds tweeting and the blue skies. I am one of those people who find it very hard to get out of bed in a morning but on days like this, whether I am waiting for a commuter train or just doing my local morning walk circuit, I wonder why I don’t spend more time appreciating mornings. They are both activities that I get to do with the opportunity to contemplate the day ahead. Maybe that adds to the peace. If this were a gratitude journal then that morning peacefulness would be on my list for today. 

I was slightly less thankful for the screeching of the train wheels on the approach to Twickenham. There’s a bit - which I assume is the loopy bit of the route - where the train is making quite a sharp (for a train) curve to head back towards London on the Richmond route. It definitely shattered the peace. On the brighter side, the clear skies meant a clear view of planes in landing formation heading towards Heathrow. 

Office days tend to have a bit of a familiar pattern to them. The wider UK-based product team come in. At 10am we have a Teams call for those who can’t make it to the office. Today, J joined as he stayed at home because his wife isn’t well. Then, we chat through some issues.  If Daniel is in the office he will join us for a while: today he presented the feedback from the customer visit that he shared with me yesterday. At some point, there is lunch and we tend to go as a group. We’ve been the the sandwich shop, the curry place, the generic Asian food place and today to the Oriental Food Market where Pete and I decided to share a Thai curry (because the portions looked evening meal sized). 

It’s generally great to be in the office with people for a day. Today concluded with the three of us that most recently joined listening to HR describe the end of year review process which has just started.  I am not sure who is filling in all the optional parts of the assessments but, apparently, I can if I want to. 

After that I made my way for the 17:08 so I can take the reverse of the train I took this morning and head home the slightly longer way round that will avoid me trying to board a crushed service from Clapham Junction.  I changed at Twickenham in reverse and noticed this sign on the platform. St Margarets?  Any idea what that might mean?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.