A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Yorkshire sandstone

This wall runs along the outer edge of Ferrand’s Park in our village. The Ferrands family owned the St Ives Estate and Harden Grange and much of the land in the village. William Ferrand was an MP in the 19th century for Knaresborough and later for Devonport.

The wall is made from Yorkshire sandstone or millstone grit which naturally darkens with the weather. The walls seen at the other side of the road are of the same material as are many older buildings in Yorkshire.

The trees across the road are Cherries and provide a lovely blossom lined entrance to our village in the spring. Now they have great autumn colour too.

Unlike the last two days we have had a lovely day today. I took this shot when I walked up to the village post office for some cash.  Yesterday I saw remembrance poppies for sale at the garden centre in the edge of our village in Wilsden but had no change. They had a box of poppies in the PO but they were all the old design with plastic middles and stems. You may recall my son in law John, and his company, has designed a plastic free poppy to be launched by the British Legion for this year’s Remembrance poppy appeal. They have to sell up all the old stock as well as introduce the new so I understand that, what I didn’t understand is that our village garden centre further along this road isn’t selling them at all!

I ended up walking back to the Wilsden one and getting of my s i l ‘s new ones. I’m sure it will feature on blip in the coming weeks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.