Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Absolutely Quackers

No, the title doesn't refer to my descent in to full-on cabin fever (well, not yet) but instead my lovely subjects of today's blip, some of my pet ducks.

In previous blips you may have seen Rory and Amy, my pair of coloured muscovies, but allow me to introduce Bucket, Johnny and Clara.

These guys are fairly recent additions to the flock, after moving up the valley from the Kaituna Bird Sanctuary. Terry and Belinda at the sanctuary were keen to move these guys on, and knowing our duck friendly situation (hey, what duck doesn't love a river on the other side of the fence) they relocated them a few weeks back.

Bucket (centre) is a Cayuga, Johnny (left) a Khaki Campbell and Clara (in the background) is a white Muscovy. The boys are fairly vocal, in fact they remind me of a wind up duck that quacks as it moves, for it seems they sound louder as they waddle. In upcoming blips I'll show you the loudest of my ducks, Jemima the Pekin.

They've now got the confidence to leave the fowl paddock and can now be found hanging around the front door first thing in the morning, waiting for breakfast. Cheeky rascals. In fact what with all the chickens and pukekos around the house in the morning, perhaps it's Hitchcock's 'The Birds' I should be watching, rather than 'Rear Window'.

Thanks to all those who commented on my 300th blip yesterday. To be honest I completely forgot I was racking up the triple ton. All your comments were therefore a nice surprise.

As I mentioned yesterday, I also finalised my Nikon 2013 Amateur Photographer of the Year entries. If you want to see what in contention, head over to my Blipfolio gallery...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.