Teasel

By Teasel

Pumpkin Season

TT’s alarm woke me up at some ungodly hour.  How very annoying, especially as he isn’t even here.  I was not impressed.  I managed to get back to sleep, then woke with my own alarm.  I then had to make sure that party boy was up and ready for rugby.  An early start after a late night party is never good.  He said he was ok- but some of his friends looked rather the worse for wear.  I dropped him off for pre-match training, paid a flying visit to the Farmers’ market, before heading home to make up rolls and sort things out for the post-rugby nosh.  Once that was done and the washing was out, I headed back to rugby, added my contribution to the food and watched the game with a few friends.  BB scored a try not long after I got there, but our boys didn’t score many more.  It was a good game though.  It was also the muddiest game of the season so far – they were covered.
 
After rugby we headed home and BB showered before I then dropped him off for football.  As it was such a  beautiful day, I decided to go for a walk, rather than head home to do some household chores.  I had a lovely, if muddy underfoot, walk and ended up back at the football, where I had a chat with a friend.  Thankfully BB wasn’t as muddy after football, but he was aching, so once home he lay in a hot bath for a while to ease his aching limbs.
 
I sorted out a few things and got myself ready to head into Edinburgh to meet up with a few friends.  We all worked together about twenty years ago.  They all met up last year, but I wasn’t around, so it was really nice to see them all again, and we all just picked up where we left off which was lovely – though the conversations did touch on caring for elderly relatives, menopause and retirement.  Topics we wouldn’t have dreamt about twenty years ago!  We met in the Café Royal for a quick drink, before heading out for a dinner to a new-ish Asian place – influenced by the cooking of south east Asia it said.  We started with cocktails, then went for the sharing menu, which seemed easiest.  The food was very nice and an interesting mix of things and  flavours.  I’m not a fan of sharing, but it worked out well and I didn’t feel hungry at the end, which is the important thing!
 
As we left we took a few group selfies – badly!  There was talk of more drinks, but a couple of us had to get buses/trains home, so we all went our separate ways in the rain.  It was pouring when I got off the bus and I was pretty wet by the time I got home.  BB was where I had left him-  lying on the sofa.  He had eaten, and he had watched the rugby, but announced to me that he was still hungry.  I left him to it, as I went straight to bed, thinking of the extra hour!
 
I spotted these pumpkins and squashes at the Farmers’ market this morning.  The extra is the River Tyne  this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.