Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Purple Finch

Although I've already recorded this species for my annual list (see springtime image HERE) I couldn't resist this for today.  These birds breed in northern Canada but are frequently seen here during spring and fall migration and sometimes throughout the winter.  To a novice eye, they look like a House Finch but a closer look reveals a "mask" marking on the face and a blockier build and squared head.  Subtle but definitive.  Anyway, there were three in the garden this morning, the first I've seen this fall.  

The temps never got out of the 50's today and the rain has been intermittent. I've managed to get Jax out for the necessary duties between rain showers but he has otherwise been quite happy to snuggle up on the sofa.  In fact, we both had a little nap together this afternoon - he's a very good blanket.

Had a nice chat with my parents this morning who both looked well.  Only 10 days until I see them in person!  

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.