Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

PLEASE DRINK GIN RESPONSIBLY. Don’t spill it

Today I have mostly done .... nothing.  Didn't sleep well last night so Ive felt tired today.  Ive done what was necessary such as doing a load of washing, doing the washing up, feeding the cats ... and myself etc... and Ive relaxed and watched TV.

I did spend a while exchanging WhatApp messages with Becky. She did the Lancing 10k this morning and she was the 3rd lady - she got a trophy as well as a medal.  Well done Becky.

Shes got the results of her Ancestry DNA test so she wanted to compare it to mine.  There are some differences.  I'm 96% England and North Western Europe  and 4% Sweden and Denmark.. Becky is  79% England, 14% East European,1% North and West European and 6% Iberian.  The results led on to a discussion about family history. I used to be very interested in researching family history and did quite a lot of " digging " a few years ago but it just got too time consuming.

The weather today has been wet, dark and dismal.  It seems to have rained the whole day.  No chance for an outdoor blip so as an emergency blip I took a photo of a couple of bottles of gin which arrived in the post yesterday.  I bought them for my son in law Mike for Christmas as gin is his favourite drink.

Im not a gin drinker ( unless its hidden in a delicious sweet cocktail )  so when I was looking online I just picked two bottles I liked the look of.  Hopefully Mike will enjoy them. The one on the left is York Gin made by a small independent distillery using traditional and sustainable methods. The award-winning York Gin shop is in a beautiful 16th Century building in central York. The one on the right is Chemist Gin - an American gin created using local botanicals from the Appalachian Mountains of North Carolina.

Some gin one liners/jokes..........


Education is important but gin is importanter.

A perfect martini should be made by filling a glass with gin then waving it in the general direction of Italy.’   -  Noel Coward

Stop saying I’m hard to buy for – you know where the gin aisle is.

A gin and tonic has 91 calories. A banana has 115 calories. My   doctor told me to make the healthy choice. I love my doctor.

Gin and tonic is the answer … What was the question?

The house may not always be tidy - but the gin is always neat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.