Elegg

By Happyme

Cosy corner

This is my favourite corner of the house, right next to my bed, which I see last thing at night and where I spend the first hour of my day, with a cuppa and usually blip.
Tuesday was a good day. I made bread, admittedly in the bread maker, but I struggle with manual bread making these days and at least I know what ingredients are in it and the smell of baking bread can't be beaten!
I rifled about in the sewing room for remnants to make some reusable grocery bags as gifts. I have a pattern I'm going to use, well attempt anyway, not having made one before, despite having had the book for who knows how many years!
I took the remnants and the book to our fortnightly sewing group with the intention of cutting out at least one bag to get started. I did chat to people about the fabrics etc but we all spent quite a lot of time chatting, drinking tea and biscuits that not a lot of crafting was done by many!
The group is held in the village hall with our recycle shop downstairs. Kath and I brought up a huge length of embroidered silk curtaining material which had been donated but not folded, just a heap, nor did we have any idea how much was there. We measured and folded it. There was 17metres all in one length! It is now neatly folded encased in a pillowcase. It is very slippery being silk so we hope it will stay put and someone will want it. If not we will pass it onto another charity in a bigger town where hopefully someone will make use of it.
It was a very convivial afternoon.
When I got home Barry took Reg for a damp and dismal walk, although neither of them mind stomping along the lanes in foul weather! I vacuumed the kitchen as I had rescued a rug from the recycle shop which has brightened our kitchen floor.
Mum's phone call was pretty jolly too so all in all a happy day for HappyMe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.