curns' corner

By curns

Raynes Park

A little of of a melancholy start to they realising that it is two years since we did the month living on the Isle of Wight experiment in Shanklin. That was a lot of fun.

Yesterday, one of my chores was grating beetroot. There was a lot of it. I made a beetroot orzo dish that the recipe called Beetroot Orzotto, but I am not convinced that it a real word.  The beetroot were unusual (to me) as there were a mix of recognisable dark red beets but also much paler, almost yellow, vegetables.  Today we ate some of the ‘Orzotto’ for lunch as it was delicious. 

Spoke to Mum and Dad about their upcoming trip to Spain - they leave for the airport tonight but are staying at the Ibis at Birmingham Airport until they fly in the morning. They seemed in good spirits about heading out to warmer temperatures.

I decided on an Italian roast cabbage dish for dinner. It turned out to be more complex to put together than I imagined. Once I had the majority underway I left PY watching pans while I went to the gym. It was a bit busier than this time last week. Then, I had to pick up some bits - mainly olives - that I needed for the dinner. As I was walking to the Co-op I noticed how quiet the streets were again. So, today’s picture is another (almost) empty road. Have I been missing something? Maybe the terrible weather has put people off leaving the house. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.