Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Queen

It's been a while since I photographed Phoebe so I took advantage of some interesting light as she sat in front of the window today.  She's 16 now and has slowed down considerably since we got her as a 6-month old rescue kitten.  When we got her, she'd been in a shelter situation for 4 months - I honestly have no idea why she wasn't snatched up by some other pet-parent, but I'm grateful she is ours.  She's a sweet cat and she has become very much my husband's girl in recent years.  Funny, when we got married, he would always say he was a dog person, not a cat person.  He'd never really been around cats until he started dating me (and my cat, Cleo). Now he is definitely a cat person...and still a dog person too.  And while Phoebe loves me, he is definitely her favorite person.

And speaking of Hubs...today is his birthday, so Happy Birthday, dear!  And here's to many more!  Instead of going out tonight, I am making dinner - filet mignon, mashed maple sweet potatoes and roasted asparagus.  Yum.

We didn't have the most ideal to start to his birthday as I had to be at the hospital by 7:50 this morning to prep for a procedure that lasted less than 10 minutes.  It's kind of crazy that the prep/waiting was 1 1/2 hours for such a short and fairly easy procedure.  Anyway, I got two cortisone injections - one in each SI joint in my back - which will hopefully get my lower back in good order.  Not a painful process but definitely a weird and somewhat unsettling sensation as they inject the drug.  But I count my blessings that I am able to get treatments like this which allow me to hopefully continue doing all the things I love.

We had NO trick-or-treaters last night which was shouldn't have been a surprise since we never get more than a few and some years none.  Anyway, We now have mini-candy bars left over so I had one today instead of dark chocolate.  A mini Snickers bar, my fave.  Need to find a home for the rest of them, and soon!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.