Everyday Life

By Julez

Twilight in the Arboretum

Today has been quite productive. Now that we have my Dad's death registered I could get on with dealing with some of his contracts and services. For many things the Government "Tell Us Once" service was very useful. The energy supplier was tricky, as was Sky, in fact I'm still not certain that is done properly - we'll see!

At one point I needed his Blue Badge details. This brought about a disaster! I knew it was in a box with some other stuff I'd brought home from my Dad's. I had forgotten that on top of the box was the glass commemoration plate for Queen Victoria's coronation. When I reached to take the box down from the top of the wardrobe, the plate fell off, hitting my shoulder, then the floor, where it shattered into one large and hundreds of small pieces. My Dad had said he wanted me to have this as it had been his Mum's. I have it just a few days and it is no more! It was a very long job cleaning up all the glass too.

The refreshments for after the funeral are now sorted at the pub near the church. It's not cheap but it sounds like they put on a decent, generous  spread. She told me to under rather than over estimate. 

After all the time spent on websites and phone calls, and the plate calamity I was ready to climb the walls by 4 PM, so as the light looked quite good I decided to have a walk in the park to clear my head. Here's a couple of photos I took!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.