ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Adaptation and hipsterisation

It's more than ten years since I blipped the Little Havana Cigar and Pipe Shop. It has survived, even through the indoor smoking ban and the pandemic, where it operated as a doorway counter, as did quite a few small shops in Leith (like Twelve Triangles Bakery, for example). It got back to normal a while ago, but I noticed today that it has sprouted a small subsidiary selling coffee. Now that's what I call diversification, adaptation and hipsterisation. Well done them!

From my previous photograph, I discern that the shop next door to the pipe shop used to be a driving school. I think it has been through a number of other interim manifestations, before re-opening recently in its present form. Let's see how it goes. There are a number of other places on Leith Walk where you can buy top class coffee, including Hobz Bakery, very close by. I am not sure how much demand there is.

I had another day which built upon the various pieces of nonsense bubbling up yesterday, and Friday afternoon involved breaking the cardinal rules of Friday, which I try to stick by, because I don't like it being done to me. Unfortunately, I had to do it to someone else.

As a result, in the evening, I was both exhausted and uneasy. After watching the last dregs of the recent series of WDYTYA, we retired early to bed, and while I listened to a podcast, which normally makes me fall sleep, I couldn't really settle until the middle of the night. Eventually, after reading my book briefly at about 2am, I settled into a weird dreamy sleep for another four hours which luckily left me rested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.