A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Lots of water in Goit Stock

We knew if we wanted a dry walk we needed to get out early today. We thought it might be worth a walk up Goit Stock to see the extent of the rain water in Harden Beck and the waterfall.
It was quite misty but dry and despite the lack of sun the leaf colour was still very good. ( The rain did arrive later as predicted)

Some weeks ago I had a virtual conversation with the Boss from Tussock Tales about using the Live function on the phone camera so I wanted to try it out.

I’m not that keen on waterfall photography and am not sure if I like the ‘furry’ water effect created by slow shutter speed but I thought this would be a chance to give it a try.

The roaring sound of the water was enough to tell us that the water levels were high (and you can hear this when you play back the ‘live’ shots) but the paths weren’t inundated which we have seen before. I took lots of waterfall shots but I’m not sure I liked the long exposure effect on them all, perhaps because of the volume of water. 
I did, however, quite like the effect on the moving water in the beck as seen in the blip. Good to know how to use it anyway.

We’re not having a bonfire or anything to celebrate plot night this weekend but we have got a traditional supper of Pie and Peas and Yorkshire Parkin to enjoy tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.