Everyday Life

By Julez

Dad

My Dad's funeral will take place tomorrow.

I had the idea that I would put together a little album of photos to take along to the gathering in the pub afterwards. I got a small album in town and put in different photos I have of him throughout his life, starting with one of him at two, to some from after he retired Here is a very small selection of them. 

Clockwise from top left: With his brother Don with their motorbikes as teenagers, his first car, age 2, with me on my wedding day, with my mum on holiday, with me as a baby, with Jeri and Zeph and finally dressed as Nora Batty at a Christmas fancy dress do. 

There are no wedding photos of him with Mum - because none were taken! Not many people had cameras in those days and no one at the wedding did! (Weirdly I do have a photo of his parents' wedding!) There isn't a shot of him with Grace either - I'm sure there will be some but I think they are in the loft, or on a long gone phone!

Grace is coming over this evening and will arrive around 8.45 PM.

While I was in town I had lunch in a café. Only after ordering a drink and cake did I realise I had no book, no tablet, no magazine, no paper or pen and no phone! It felt very weird!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.