curns' corner

By curns

Clapham Junction

The morning did not start brilliantly when the train to Twickenham was running late so, instead of taking the slightly longer, but more pleasant route to work, I went via Clapham and more crowded trains. I’d made some coffee before I left so I had something to drink on the train. I had a 9am with one of the Israeli developers who I am working with to try and get some kind of changelog from the system to give to our support team. As a result, I was in the office earlier than usual. 

The rest of the day was the usual for a Tuesday. I mainly sit and listen to the team working on the programmatic initiatives. It’s not the work I focus on and, generally, I don’t get much done. The value is in spending time with the team. After yesterday’s restructuring announcement a lot of the discussion was about what was going to happen.

Most of the team had left by 5pm but I hung around for a little longer until I headed to the station to catch the 1739. Then I messaged Gerry, telling her which carriage I was in.

She joined the train at Twickenham, and I was in the 4th not 3rd carriage, and we headed into town for a reunion of the some of my-ex ITV team, the self-styled social-chit-chat group. We were meeting at our regular haunt, Bill’s Restaurant in Soho. They even gave us a decent table in the quieter part of the restaurant. 

It was a lovely evening. Nice to catch-up with all the news. Back at Waterloo before midnight and an agreement to meet up again on 6th. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.