Pinkhairedlady

By Pinkhairedlady

Lest we forget

Took Phin for an early morning walk to the nearby field at 8 his morning as I wanted to get some steps in before heading into town to meet my friend Susan for lunch at Six By Nico. We met one of his doggy friends en route so Phin enjoyed a good run about.

I stopped off at the garden of remembrance in Pronces st gardens en route to the restaurant to plant a cross in memory of my grandfather who was a pipe major in the Cameron Highlanders. He started off as a drummer boy during WW1 and was mentioned in dispatches, gaining the Military medal along the way. He died when my dad was a boy so I never met him but I wish I knew more of his back story.

Lunch was delicious and we both enjoyed it very much. We met up with a friend of Susan’s (who was visiting his parents from his current place of abode, Sydney Australia) for a drink after lunch before heading home.

Thabks to BikerBear for hosting FlowerFriday , I hope you’ll forgive my blipping the poppies in the garden of remembrance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.