jennym999

By jennym999

Remembrance 2023

This morning I went to the local service of Remembrance in Hampton Wick. The war memorial is in a little enclosed garden just by Kingston Bridge on the Hampton Court side, the service is always conducted by the vicars from St John’s Hampton Wick and wreaths are laid by officials from many local associations, schools, local council, ex service men etc. Today the last wreath to be laid was on the right…a peace wreath with white flowers. I looked at it afterwards and the card said “ I memory of my grandfather who died in the Somme in 1916. His name engraved on the Thierpal Memorial” 

Luckily the rain held off but it has been a dismal day and several showers so I have been at home doing more knitting plus watching the Billy Jean King tennis from th Copper ox arena, and the first episode of the Shakespeare series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.