Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Juncos

The main photo is a yellow-eyed junco. You won't see this anywhere else in the U.S. An interesting thing about this bird is that it has a bi-colored bill. The extra is a female slate-colored Oregon dark-eyed junco. Today I saw a total of five different types of juncos, including these two. Pretty in large.

It was a nice, if chilly, day at 5,000 ft/1524 m. I spoke to several very nice people, including a man also shooting a Canon. I couldn't figure what was wrong with my camera. All I could see was black. I tried every mode, formatted the SD card and cleared my camera settings. It turned out that I forgot to take off my lens cap! I had to reset everything. Not an easy task or someone whose brother walked her through it initially  :-)

Besides forgetting my breakfast food, I have realized that I also forgot my wallet and computer glasses. I'm sure I'll discover more things as I reach for them. There's a lot to pack when you not only have to pack a week's worth of warm and cold clothes but your food and water. Plus the computer, camera kit, meds and phone, iPad and hearing aid  chargers.....

I have come to the conclusion that I'm not fond of having high-speed internet, including cell service. I liked being completely off the grid. I’ve been receiving calls and texts so I turned off the ringer.

I'm very happy that my first full day was pleasant. I hope you like the juncos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.