pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Remembrance Day Parade

For as long as I can remember, we took part in one way or another in Remembrance day, both Jon and I. In Hoddesdon, as a Guide or Venture Scout, and then as a leader. Then in Linton, as a leader with Linton Guides, and Scouts for Jon. Since moving to Norfolk, Jon has continued as a Scout leader, but I went along today, to watch the parade, listen to the names read out from the memorial, and just to remember. Mollie came with me. We stood together until Jon was free and the scouts had gone home.

We walked up to The Gangway for a cup of coffee and then Mollie went home, while we drove to Pretty Corner. We had a walk and collected some chestnuts. There were still a few left on the ground, even this late.

In the afternoon, I cleared the front garden with Jon's help. Until it was dark. Jon cooked the dinner. Luckily I had prepared the veg before we went out. Dan came round for dinner and Henry arrived home after a weekend away. Too cold to sit at the table to eat, so we had it on our laps in the lounge. I did a bit of craft stuff and helped Mollie out with a bit of stuff for school.

TV then bed. Not looking forward to work tomorrow as I know it is going to be very cold. But payday Friday, so it has its ups.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.