curns' corner

By curns

21

To Euston by 6pm to find train travel chaos and it wasn’t entirely clear about the cause. Was the direct train running or not? First it was - and had a platform - and then it wasn’t. Magically, it all worked out OK.  Although the train we were supposed to be on did eventually leave, they did not load the seat reservations but PY managed to persuade the person in one of our seats that they should move, It was excellent.  Due to the delays, it was a later than planned connection at Birmingham but that turned out to be on a quieter train. Still delay repayable and we were at Mum and Dad’s by 10:15pm.

One of the things I want to do while I am in Shrewsbury is sort through a few of the remaining belongings that I still have here. The photo is of a collection of the original 21 Famous Five stories that Enid Blyton wrote.  When I was a child, these were a gift from one of our neighbours, Kim, and I’m going to let Amber have them next. I certain that, if we were to buy a more recently published version, there may have been some modifications to the language but I am hoping that that she enjoys these. I wanted to take a photograph to see the set all together for one final time. When I was at Woodfold junior school, I’d read one of these a day during the school holidays.  My friends and I used to play ‘Famous Five’ when were in the school playground. I don’t recall who I was but there were five of us so, occasionally, somebody had t play Timmy the Dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.