Keith B

By keibr

Camper van settling down for winter...

I continued yesterday's work of putting the camper van to bed for the winter. Thinking of yesterday I realised I had prepared and exported the photo but not actually pressed the "publish" button. So that's there as today's backblip!
I moved the camper into exactly the right place. It's a delicate job, far enough forward so it isn't in the way of our neighbour's snow plough, but not hanging too far over the slope at the front. I also cleared the snow off the roof, as in the picture. I got out the blocks of polystyrene and the cover, all to go on the roof, but that's probably tomorrow's job.
It was eventually sunny and still today and it felt lovely to be outside. By the time the clouds retreated and the sun appeared it was too low in the sky to shine directly on us but it lit up the distant hills and the blue sky (extra) made even our shaded garden a lot brighter. It was chilly but the air has turned dry and staying warm is no problem. Once it got dark I decided indoor jobs were the the way to go, and in view of the -14°C temperatures it seemed the ideal time to defrost our freezer. I just popped the three drawers outside and knew nothing was going to melt! Once the freezer was defrosted, clean and dry I decanted the contents of the drawers into IKEA bags and cleaned up the actual drawers. Jan then repacked the stuff into the freezer, throwing away the stuff with the "Best before xx 2019" labels!  Now it's a joy to go into the kitchen freezer, with drawers just sliding easily open and shut. Should have done it months ago. Maybe I'll give the chest freezer in the cellar a defrost soon....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.