Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Almost finished

(18/11/23)

My picture today was taken during my drive to the office. This building was a G+M+3 storey building for the longest time (since the 1980s). A shop called Sana Fashions occupied the entire ground floor. As a result, the junction near it was locally known as Sana Junction (or Sana signal, as the traffic drivers here call it). A few years ago, the "Sana" building was demolished, and this new skyscraper has been built in its place. Some would say it is a much better use of the land, but it is so out of place in what is generally a low-rise neighbourhood. I guess it is an indicator of things to come.

The day at work started well. I had to organise my lunch, so it was a welcome invite when Omnia (a journalist in the office) asked if I'd like to join her as she didn't have any lunch either. We had a look at a few delivery apps before I suggested we walk to the Capri. She had never been and loved it! Of course, I couldn't resist filling her in on some of the personal associations and history of the places as we walked along. :))

G is leading tomorrow's SA service, so we should have practised a couple of songs, but we'll use lyric videos instead. I seem to be constantly tired atm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.