Keith B

By keibr

Frozen

Winter has come very early to mid-Sweden. Last night it was -16°C. That's particularly cold for November but it's at least 10 days since the temperature got above zero, and the 10 day forecast suggests it's going to stay that way!
It's not exactly good news that it's so cold, but it is far better than getting freeze / thaw weather that just gives us icy streets and roads.  
Mentioning ice, the sea has now frozen in the sheltered areas, such as the (pictured) North Sound. Only three days ago I blipped this and the sea was open.
A friend I met earlier today told me he'd seen a few ice-skaters out on the ice in the picture. I was standing on a jetty to take this picture and I suspect they set out from here and skated out to the red buildings in the distance, and back. I expect it was quite an exciting skate. I know people who do this wild skating and they have to catch the ice between its freezing and the next snowfall. Once the snow covers the ice you can't skate. They are used to literally skating on thin ice, that flexes as they pass over it! They have suitable knowledge and equipment, each person carrying a complete change of clothes and a lifeline, and the group stay reasonably far apart. They send the heaviest person first... (I made up that last sentence, but it's what I'd do!)
Also in the picture is a trail through the ice made by a boat that came in, turned around and headed out again, a sign the ice definitely isn't too thick.
The sun is behind me but that window conveniently reflects it back to provide a photogenic gleam! The extra is looking the other way, into town and the bridge.
We were in town to buy a new washing machine and had a slightly dramatic time when we stopped for a bit of lunch, but Jan has written about all that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.