Fotomatikus

By hazelh

English autumn scene

This church is across the road from our accommodation of the past two nights. The building dates from the 12th century, although it is believed that there has been a place of worship here since Saxon times. I photographed this scene because it looks so very English.

Today has been somewhat quieter than the past couple, especially after the departure of my sister-in-law Sam, her partner Alan, our niece Beth, our (other) nephew Paddy, and Paddy's girlfriend Dani. Before they left, however, we all enjoyed one more (noisy) meal together with shakshuka for breakfast.

This afternoon the five of us left at the house - my middle sister, my brother-in-law, Mummy hazelh, Mr hazelh, and I - went on a short expedition to the village and back. Mummy hazelh travelled by (her new) wheelchair, pushed in turn by my brother-in-law and Mr hazelh. This was good practice for our train journey north tomorrow.

Back at the house I watched the recording of Kate's funeral service. I was very sorry to miss it on Thursday because I was travelling, but glad to hear that some of my words made it into the celebrant's speech and the eulogy delivered by Kate's brother. Kate's widower Ian cropped the selfie that I took on 1st July 2016 for the front of the order of service.

As I type this we're working out the best way to eat up left-overs for supper. It looks like three of us will have shepherd's pie, and the other two chili con carne.

Here's hoping that our journey home again tomorrow will be as easy as Thursday's south. This probably will not be the case given that we have a frail octogenarian and her luggage (including wheelchair) to transport back to Edinburgh.

Exercise today: small amount of walking (~9k steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.