carliewired

By carliewired

79 F/ 26 C

A desert lake is
a most intriguing place for 
a winter visit

~carliewired

We had a slow start after emptying the coffee pot this morning. It was almost noon before we were on our way to Mittry Lake. It is a 60 acre nature reserve formed by the Colorado River. 

We parked by one of the jetties and walked the area noting the wild fowl and the recreation in the area. Most of the birds on the water were American coots. They are distinctive with their black bodies and white beak. The only stranger I found today was a ruddy duck, which I also see at home sometimes. This one was a female. It has a wide beak much like a shoveler. 

I was surprised to find some purple wildflowers but I wasn't able to identify them. 

I have painted in this area before. I very much appreciate the views of water and palms. 

We were home again in time for our naps. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.