Eagles - Mission Flats

No prospect of sun,
yet that small glimmer arrived
to improve my day

~carliewired

The forecast only provided us the expectation of another cloudy day, so I took my time with my big mug of coffee. At 10:30 I suddenly saw sun and shadows on my walls - I had to get out there with my camera!

I drove over the bridge to Mission Flats to see what I could find along the river. I stopped to get a panoramic view across the river and Rabbit Island to my mountains. Looking down to the very low river there, I could see a lot of discarded items along the shore. Not pretty and rather sad to think of our river as a dumping ground.

I drove on in hopes of finding eagles - and I was not disappointed at all!
There were several eagles, mature and juvenile, perched on the treetops on the foreshore where I usually find them. They were a bit more difficult to photograph today, as they were tucked well into the trees. I got  a few shots and one good close up. 

I drove further down to a little rise where I can see across to the far shore. Several eagles were hunting there, too, just below the airport tower. They had stretched themselves out along the shoreline with their feet in the river. 

I drove to the end of the road to get a look down to the delta, then turned my car around to head back to the bridge. I got a shot of a dog walker along the road with my mountains in the background.

I'm in for the day. More sorting would be good. So would a nap!

The forecast is for a cloudy day with a high of -4 C. We could see some days above freezing in the last half of the next week. Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.