A Near Miss + the Unexplained

I waited for the 
sun to appear and it was
so well worth the wait!

~carliewired

I saw in the forecast that we might see some sun today, so I busied myself with some minor jobs while watching the sky. Finally, near noon, I thought I'd best get out there with my camera and make the most of the day. 

I drove down into McArthur Island Park to see what I could find. First, I parked near the Butterfly Garden so I could walk over the foot bridge. There were no ducks in the slough there today. I crossed the bridge to get my first shot of my mountains. The sun made an appearance while I took a shot of the frozen slough. 

I drove over to the southwest corner of the park. I was looking for deer, but I only found disc golf players today. They don't seem to mind tramping over the snow. I found a pair of fellows very engaged in the sport. I walked past them to the river's edge. I could see down the river to the delta and up the river to the city. I found someone sitting quietly, so I left them as quietly. 

On my way back to my truck, a frisbee flew by me narrowly missing my left arm. The purple frisbee landed in the snow to my right just off the path. I have to think the player(s) did not see what happened as nothing was said. I paused long enough to take a photo and moved on. 

Just before I reached the truck I noticed a bike laying on its side on the bank of the river. There was a Christmas wreath over its handlebars. Two ladies came up behind me and wondered out loud how that bike got there and what was the wreath for. I said that I take pictures every day of the 'unexplained' and this would be another. We had a laugh. 

I am home today with no urgent matters to contend with. I'm enjoying that sunshine, no matter how feeble. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of -3 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.