A time for everything

By turnx3

St. Catharine of Siena

Sunday
We were rather thin on the ground in choir this morning - one couple were in Florida, one couple were teaching Sunday School this morning, and another couple had an “emergency boiler problem”, and were waiting in for a repairman. Fortunately, I had one fellow alto, and Roger’s fellow tenor eventually turned up! Despite our slim numbers, I think the anthem went quite well!
After service, while we were enjoying the refreshments, Tom, our pianist/organist, who is also a cellist - in fact that is is principal instrument -:asked if we were going to the concert this afternoon. He knows we enjoy concerts, and quite often go to things that he’s involved in. However, this particular concert we weren’t aware of. It was a performance of Durufle’s Requiem at the church shown in my blip, Saint Catharine of Siena, a Catholic Church on the west side of the city. Anyway, we didn’t have anything planned, so we went. It was a beautiful church, inside and out, with beautiful stained glass windows. The performance just featured a small choir, organ, and Tom, on cello. I thought I was familiar with the work, but I think I must have been mixing it with Faure’s Requiem, as I didn’t recognize any of it, but I still enjoyed it. It wasn’t that well attended, which didn’t surprise me, as when we had got back from our church at lunch time, I looked on line to find something more about it - and I couldn’t find anything, not even on the church website!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.