A day in the life

By Shelling

Show

I remember when I was eight and for the first time experienced "Funny hour" at school, I'm sure you had or have heard of something similar, it was simply an hour, or class,  in school, usually the last one before going home for the weekend, where we, the young students could contribute with something we would like to do in front of the class. I loved it. Sometimes I could sing a song that I liked or read some story from a book I liked. I wonder where this came from. I know now that I needed some confirmation that I was good at something but why wasn't I scared or hesitant? I was always willing to show my classmates what I could do. 

I see the same thing in the kids performing in front of their friends and parent at the theatre when the municipal music school is doing their final performance, showing the world what they've learned. This time it was the dance classes, aged from 9 or so, up to twelve years old. It's such a delight to see them on stage and feel their trembling overexcitement when the get a chance to show an audience what they can do. I was working at the theatre this evening at the dressrehearsal for their premiere tomorrow evening. I recognise myself in them and cheer in the background. 

I could hear that the storm outside had increased and when I got home I had to rescue the roof of my woodpile to create any damage, it had blown off, despite the heavy rocks I'd put on top of the roof to hold it in place and was sailing away in an unpredictable way. Tomorrow, when I can see what I'm doing I will do a better job fastening it properly, if it's still around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.