Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

CHRISTMAS CACTUS

Another day when I was thankful for my sister in laws help.  I had an appointment at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital this morning and V arrived at 10.50am to give me a lift.  My appointment was at 11.30am at the Osteoporosis Clinic.

I waited around 30 mins before I was seen by the consultant.  Then more waiting while he read my notes and checked different info /scans/X rays on his screen.  Then he asked lots of questions.  His verdict .......  that I have a very high chance of fractures in the future as my bones are brittle. I already have stress fractures in my spine which is crumbly and losing height.  He has recommended a brand new treatment. ( apparently it will cost the NHS £7,000 and is only offered to those at serious risk of fractures )  It will consist of two injections every month for one year.  After a year they will no longer be effective but by then they should have improved my bone density and reduced the risk of breakages.. Then I will need to start a different treatment. I will have to administer the injections myself - after Ive been shown how to do it.  ( hopefully I will be able to do it but I don't know till I try ).  So I'm just waiting to hear when this treatment will start.

After we left the hospital we went shopping in a nearby Sainsburys and then to Marks and Spencers in the Metrocentre.  We had planned to drive to Ponteland to go to the Waitrose there but because I was so long at the hospital we had to go somewhere nearer.  V had to get back home as she had an appointment this afternoon at her local health centre for a hearing aid check.

Haven't done much since I got home apart from a few chores and  catching up with TV viewing. 

The weather today was windy again and its getting colder.  Apparently we might even get some snow next week.  I hope not.

Ive blipped my lovely Christmas Cactus for Flower Friday.  A few of the flowers are out already and there are lots more buds yet to open. It seems to like where its living now --- on the kitchen windowsill. Thanks to BikerBear for hosting.

Steps today -5,419

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.