A day in the life

By Shelling

Christmas market

I woke up to a beautiful morning with blue sky and a cold sun, the temperature was around zero and for the first time it felt like winter had come. During breakfast I saw on Facebook that they were selling log benches, ruff but very nicely made, at a Christmas market on the midst of the island in the country museum, an old farm called "Himmelsberga" 'Heavenly mountain'. I decided I wanted one and thought it would be a good idea to get there early because this market is usually very popular. 
I left around ten thirty, it's about half an hour drive and while driving north the weather quickly got cloudy and snow began falling. It was already very slippy on the roads because of the snow and damp roads, sheer ice actually. When I got there there after a slow drive, the parking was already quite full so I started looking for the benches at once and bought a very nice one. I carried it back to the car and was astonished of the number of cars that arrived during the half hour I was away. I got back in to have a look at all the craft that was displayed, since it's a country museum everything that is sold is of excellent quality, no plastic anywhere. Also lots of honey, smoked sausages, decorations, bread and so on were sold and I couldn't help but buying a few more small things, like a wreath for my door (extra). Before I left I noticed all the benches were gone, I was right in coming early. It was snowing quite a lot when I left,  as you can see and driving home was even more slippy, I had to drive really slowly to get home safe. The more south I got, the less snow was on the roads and when I got home, only 21km away, there was none at all, the climate is weird on this island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.