carliewired

By carliewired

75 F / 24 C

Problem-solving is
my brother's skill  - he likes to
apply it daily

~carliewired

When I locked up the house last March, one blind in my Arizona room snapped its cord at the top. I was about to depart, so I slapped on a big strip of duct tape and hoped for the best. 

Arriving back to my mansion in November, the blind had somehow survived but definitely needed to be replaced. Today was the day! 

My brother pried the blind off the top of the window, rolled the draw strings around it and off we headed to the big hardware store in town. 

We walked directly to the blinds department where I'd bought this one and its kin. We stood and waited for a clerk to show up at the counter. Nobody arrived after 10 minutes. I found the 'help' button hiding behind an imitation plant. I pushed it so the red light began to blink. Still nobody. 

My brother walked off to pick up a few items, while I perched on a stack of carpets in the department. I waited, but not patiently. My brother returned with a small bag, then handed me the receipt from the bag. "Give them a call.", he said. I pulled up my cell phone and used the store number on the receipt to connect with Customer Service. The pleasant woman who answered put out a call throughout the store for someone to come to assist. We waited. 

To make a long story short, we waited over 45 minutes before someone appeared in the department. It took repeated phone calls by me, with the calls being cut off several times.  If nothing else, I am persistent. 

The woman who is in charge of the department was not happy to see us at all. I ignored the attitude and plowed on. I wanted a new blind that I was willing to pay for. I wasn't asking for special treatment. I was determined to go home with my new blind without further delay. 

I got it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.