McArthur Island - The Grazers

A day with sun and
blue sky but a cold wind to
take one's breath away

~carliewired

I spent my morning trying to sort out my complaints with the city. The first being the heaps of snow my charming neighbour put out into the cul de sac way back on November 7. Three weeks later, they are still there although diminished by time. The second issue is the poor clearing of snow in front of my driveway. The city, in its infinite wisdom, clears the cul de sac using a dump truck with a belly blade. It doesn't come within 10 feet of my curb. Useless!!! These two problems are dealt with in two different departments. Neither coordinates with the other. The one dealing with my neighbour's mess tells me today (after chasing them for 3 weeks) that I must have 'evidence' that this neighbour tossed the snow out onto the street. It was suggested that I should provide a video of the event. Seriously!  It's like talking to porpoises!!

After wasting a morning, I got myself out to McArthur Island in very fresh air to find my blips for the day. It was a chilly -5 C with an icy wind. First, I spotted a young fellow on hockey skates trying to skate on the frozen slough. I was a bit dismayed as we've had some warmer daytimes (above freezing) so I didn't think that was a good place to be. I moved on to the west side of the park loop. 

I found four does coming across the playing fields heading in my direction. I pulled over to the curb and rolled down my window. They stopped to graze just 20 feet from my vehicle. It is always wonderful to watch them.

I drove on further to the south side of the loop where I could see flocks of Canada geese enjoying the green spaces they could find. They fill up the fields in all directions. 

I was home for a late lunch and more coffee. I finally cleaned off my backup camera so the world looks bright again, if only in reverse!

We are to have a mainly sunny day with a high of -5 C. Colder temperatures are coming along with the threat of snow. Ugh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.