Riverside Upgrade

A day without sun
is a day to be endured.
Grey is not my choice.

~ carliewired

I was sipping my coffee by 6 and trying to decide when I might venture out with my camera. I listened to the news on the radio with its list of weather warnings and dire outcomes. I felt gratitude not to be in the midst of a storm, not to have flooding or mudslides and not to have been evacuated from my home. All my problems seen so trivial. 

I was heading across the bridge to Riverside Park by 9 AM. It was 4 C and mostly cloudy but very calm. I wanted to see what the park looked like now that its renovations were underway. I can see that the pier is off limits. I had to take my far shore pictures by peering through the trees on the west side. That will be a challenge over the winter as the pier is the best viewing spot for waterfowl and the mountains. The work zone is fenced and areas within are further fenced with orange.

 I was able to catch the trumpeters on the far shore. They were very vocal this morning. When they honk it sounds like an old model T blaring its horn. 

Squirrels were not cooperating today at all. Each was moving at warp speed. I got one poor photo, that's all.

The star performers today were a descent of woodpeckers along the Rivers Trail. These flickers hopped from tree to tree scooping up whatever berries or fruit they could find. I had no idea that they were such acrobats. They hung upside down, twisted and turned to remove what they were after. I could see their undersides and got a good look at their beautiful colouring. 

So, all is not lost at the park for photographing over the winter. I can get something when I'm there. 

My last photo was taken as I walked halfway up the bike path to the bridge. I can look back to the river and the mountains from there. 

I was home for the 10:30 news. I will remain at home until dinner with my daughter late this afternoon. 

The forecast today is for a cloudy day with a high of 10 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.