Between the Bridges

It's another grey
November day with low light
and little colour

~ carliewired

I was rather slow getting out the door this morning. I slept in until almost 8 and took my sweet time with my first coffee. I drove away from the house at 9:15. It was 1 C with a threat of flurries that, thankfully, did not materialize. 

I was off to Pioneer Park, which I have avoided for several months now. It sits alongside Riverside Park on the river, but has the distinction of allowing dogs on its beach. That would not be a problem if owners would abide with the bylaw requiring their dogs to be leashed and cleaned-up after in other parts of Pioneer Park. Today was another reminder of why I have avoided it. There were several very large dogs free-wheeling around with owners tossing balls for them. I picked my way through the dog dirt and risky dogs to walk the distance between the Red Bridge and the railway bridge on the Rivers Trail. I am fast becoming a cranky old woman as I am angered by those who don't care to follow the rules in place. There are coloured maps and directions posted everywhere. There are bags and garbage cans readily available for clean up. I'd like to see these people show some respect and consideration for the taxpayers in this city. I need to place a call to the city and voice my complaints. 

I was able to see down to the river from the Rivers Trail, now that the vegetation is bare. Today, there was a juvenile trumpeter swan fishing by the shore. It doesn't have the bright white of its parents. There were goldeye ducks and hooded merganzers on the river. In both species, the female is a dowdy little creature and the male is the show-stopper. The goldeneye male has that white spot on the cheek. The hooded merganzer male has bold stripes below the neck and a white patch on the crest. 

I was stopped just at the edge of Riverside where construction is underway to improve the park. There is substantial fencing at that edge with orange flexible fencing wrapped around the trees inside the enclosure. I had a chat with other walkers this morning. We're all wondering how long it will be until Riverside Park is open again. It will be nice to see it all new and improved. 

As I neared my truck on my return, I could hear a train horn close by. I walked up to the side of the Red Bridge where it crosses the park. A Canadian Pacific Railway train was coming into the city from the east. I caught it just rolling under the Red Bridge. I stood for a while counting cars. There were 77 ore cars between the front engine and the mid engine. I gave up counting at that. I knew it was going to be a long train. By the time I'd backed out the truck, the end engine was just clearing the railway crossing I was about to access. Good timing! 

I picked up a drive-thru breakfast and was home for the 11 AM news. 

It will be another quiet day at home. 

We have a cloudy day with a forecast high of 6 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.