Paul Lake in Snow

Chasing the sunshine
and hoping for some blue sky
to energize me

~carliewired

I was up having my morning coffee at 6:30. The sky didn't look all that hopeful to me. I soon rolled back into bed to get some more sleep. I awoke suddenly about 9 with sun pouring into the house. That was the cue to get up and out the door. 

I filled my gas tank on the north shore, then headed up the hill to Paul Lake. I was hoping the sunshine would meet me there. 

The road was compact snow with sand and gravel in the appropriate places. I took my time to chug up the hill. Thankfully, traffic was almost non-existent this morning. 

I parked by the community mailboxes, then walked to the northwest end of the lake near the condos. It was -2 C. The sun was not yet dipping into the lake, but I couldn't wait. I walked a short way on the snowy path. I could see back to the community of Paul Lake and, especially, the long line of boats propped up along the shore. The lake had many hooded mergansers and American coots. They were very skittish and would rise up and move along together to avoid any danger they perceived. I got my last shot of the long view across the lake. I doubt that I will return until spring. I don't really care for driving the snowy road. 

I'm in for the day and the house is filled with sunshine now for lunch. I think I will be very lazy today. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a chance of flurries and a high of 2 C. We can expect colder days and nights plus some snow as the week unfolds.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.