Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Late Afternoon Light

I've called it late afternoon but actually it was mid afternoon, yet the sun was heading downwards pretty speedily as I returned home.  I had to make the most of a lovely day despite the list of housework jobs needing to be done, so I set out on a delivery walk to post the Hobblwordl woohoo choccy through Sue's door.  Well done Sue!

I walked out via the waterfall and stood on a rock for some time waiting for another photographer in the brightest blue anorak he could find, taking shots with one kind of camera after another.  I was seriously thinking of taking a blip and photoshopping him out, when he finally zipped his rucksack and turned to go, which is when he saw me.  I think he pinched my vantage point when I moved on.  I decided against uploading the waterfall blip because it was dark down in the valley and I wanted the light today.

It was exceedingly slurpy in the wood and I had to watch my footing in several places, going over on my ankle  as I negotiated a stile!  There were a few choice words, but nothing serious.  It was glorious and lovely to be out.

I returned on the path above the parkhome park rather than by the waterfalls and this was where I enjoyed the light.  The autumn colour has just about gone through now, but this russet tree is still fine in the sunshine.

Back home, Tony was busy planting some ragged robin plants in the mowed mini meadow.  He has grown them in the greenhouse at the allotment.  When we first laid the wildflower turf, it was full of ragged robin and we both loved it, but we have lost it over the years.  I fear it prefers boggy ground and it may not take, but we hope to see some in Spring, fingers crossed.  Tony also planted some tulips in there too, great!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.