Everyday Life

By Julez

Sunset On An Era

More housework today. I also sorted out the million carrier bags we've amassed and put some of the raggy ones in the recycling. We still have plenty, and will swap what's left for replacements when they become tatty.

This afternoon I had an appointment with the hygienist at the dentist surgery an hour's bus ride away on the other side of the city. I was there in time for a quick look around my favourite charity shop, but no bargains caught my eye today.

The appointment went well and I was soon on my way to catch the bus back into town, taking this photo of the quite striking sunset en route. I quite enjoyed the trip back. The bus goes along various residential streets and people living on bus routes don't always bother to close their curtains when it starts to get dark. This is ideal for a nosy person like me who likes nothing better than to look through their windows!

This evening once Brian was home from work we went over to Metheringham to gather up the last few bits and pieces, sweep the floors and put the huge cabinet outside with a "Free to good home" sign stuck to it in the hope that someone will claim it before Thursday when I have to meet the housing officer to hand back the keys for the last time.

Before it's let out again I'm sure they will replace the heating and gas fire (the men who did the service told me that). I daresay they will replace the kitchen units and probably the bathroom suite too. Everything is really old in there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.