a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Memory

Cathy and I have spent the day with Brendan and Sarah, Janet and Mark - my siblings and their other halves (which ought to count as a blip meet as they all have blip accounts).  Brendan and Sarah treated us to a delicious lunch before we decamped for a walk on the downland near Devizes.  There's a shot of the 5 of them on the escarpment towards sunset in what was a bitterly cold  north easterly wind as the extra.

The main is Muninn, a tame raven that was being kept by some travellers that we came across on our walk.  The raven was loose on the path and came to see what we were up to, in fact it got so close to me that I was struggling to get it in frame even with a 50mm lens.  I had managed to get the camera quite low to the ground, but was rather worried by the bird's willingness to peck at anything and everything that it could get its rather big and powerful beak near.  

Its human saw what was going on and called to it, and the bird took flight and went back to her.  We stopped for a chat and it seems that she's had the raven since it was a chick - it is now 8 months old.  I didn't ask, but I'm hoping that the bird was in need of rescue at the time.  It certainly seemed to be healthy and thriving and as I've mentioned wasn't caged and could fly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.