carliewired

By carliewired

69 F / 21 C

Visitors to my 
yard are a pleasant surprise
on most occasions

~carliewired

Saturday is a good day to do some housework and stay close to home. We were up drinking our coffee in leisurely style before 9. Breakfast of poached eggs and sausages followed. Then it was time to get working.

I changed my hummingbird feeder then we started changing the bedding. I got the first load into the washer in my garden shed. My surprise was finding the biggest grasshopper I've ever seen waiting for me along the walkway. I think it was sitting in the sun trying to warm up as we were down to the single digit overnight. 

While I was trying to sneak up on the grasshopper, a rather inquisitive bird landed in the bougainvillea along the back wall. I think this is a cactus wren, a very common bird on the Sonoran desert. It is also the state bird of Arizona. 

I'm determined to stick close to home today, giving my cranky feet something of a rest. I will be looking forward to my nap this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.