pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Happy 18th Hayden

Today it's my nephew Hayden's 18th birthday. The youngest of mum's 6 grandchildren. But also the tallest.

At 11.30, Jon arrived after an appalling drive down in the rain, and after replacing the taps with some easier for mum to turn on, we drove to Andy's mums house, to deliver her album to her. She was extremely touched, and quite emotional. I'm relieved it is what she had hoped for, and I am sure the rest of the family will enjoy looking at it in due course.

So Jon, Henry, Dan and Viki drove down to Ware to spend the day at Manda's House, celebrating. I drove mum and Rod over from Hoddesdon, and we have had some nice family time. Sadly Mollie wasn't able to join us, because she has her work Christmas meal out tonight. But we had a chat on facetime and my phone was passed round for everyone to have a chat with her.

The celebration has taken a more sophisticated turn and with Manda and Bruce's close friends arriving in the evening, a cheese and wine tasting is now well under way. Some interesting cheeses on offer, paired with the recommended wines. It is proving popular, and generating lots of conversation! My family have all headed home, with a long drive ahead of them. I am passing on the wine, but tasting the cheeses.

The first opportunity to showcase Manda's amazing new kitchen and especially her island.

I'll be driving mum and Rod back to Hoddwsdon this evening then heading home in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.