carliewired

By carliewired

65 F / 18 C

It's a lovely mix
of talented artists to
mingle with today!

Our art association meets at the Foothills Library just a few blocks from my house. Once a month during snowbird season we get use of a big meeting room on the west side of the building. Today was our Christmas meeting with everyone bringing something to share as 'finger food'. 

Our executive held a business meeting first, with plans for the upcoming art show and art trails in the new year. Announcements were made, then show and tell with members displaying their latest projects. 

During refreshments, tickets were sold for a 50/50 draw with proceeds going to scholarships that our association funds each year. Stations had been set up for members to paint items that will be later auctioned. It was fun to watch people try their hand with paint and pastels. 

When we had signed in at the beginning of the meeting, we were each given a ticket and told to write our name on the back and hold on to the ticket. A number of gift bags had been set out along a table with a label on each and a container in front to hold tickets. We had to choose one gift bag, then pop our ticket into the container with hopes it would be drawn. I put my ticket into container for the bag marked "watercolor". Surprise! I got the gift bag! (lots of watercolor-related items) 

It was wonderful to see some members that I have not seen in more than 3 years now. I have a lot of catching up to do. 

At 2:30 I needed to head home to put my feet up. I am so glad I got to enjoy today with these inspiring people. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.