Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

FENWICKS

Got on with a few outstanding chores this morning and this afternoon I wrapped some Christmas presents. 

Around 5.10pm I caught a bus to Newcastle.  I was heading for St James park to watch the Champions League game between Newcastle United and AC Milan.  The final destination of the bus was Whitley Bay via Gateshead and Newcastle but when it reached Gateshead the driver advised passengers who were going to Newcastle to get off and get the Metro across to Newcastle due to there being road closures because of the football. He said it would take ages for the bus to get into town.  So I got off the bus and caught a Metro train.  It was packed but everyone managed to squeeze on.  If I had stayed on the bus my journey would have been free using my Pensioners Bus Pass but I had to pay £2.60 to go 2 stops on the Metro.  (Rather annoying)

Newcastle was busy - late night shoppers plus footie fans.  I didn't see any AC Milan fans as I think they had marched up to the football ground earlier. I got to the ground around 7pm.  Kick off was 8pm.

The atmosphere was great as usual.  Wor Flags put on a good display -- I found a flag under my seat and I waved it with gusto. 

Newcastle played well in the first half and they got a goal on the 34th minute.  Things were looking good.  To get further in the competition Newcastle had to win this match.  However in the second half things fell apart for The Toon.  A C Milan scored twice to win the game. So the Champions League dream has ended.  The Newcastle players  did a walk around the pitch after the final whistle acknowledging the fans but my favourite player Fabian Schar didn't join them - he looked too upset.  He was standing quite near me and he was just rooted to the spot for ages - almost tearful.  I felt so sorry for him.  I've added a collage in Extras.

The bus home came on time around 10.20pm and I got in the house around 11pm. 

The Wide Wednesday theme is " Architecture".  My blip shot shows Fenwicks Department store in Northumberland Street.  The store was founded by Yorkshireman John Fenwick - he bought a house in Northumberland Street in 1882 and turned it into a high class shop. He expanded in 1884 by buying more houses in the same street. In 1885 he extended further and unveiled the new neo-classical frontage you can see today.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

I took a few more shots around town - in my collage you can see the Christmas market, the Christmas tree in Eldon Square, The Northern Goldsmiths building with its Christmas lights and the view up Northumberland Street.

Steps today - 10,739

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.