An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Another surprise...

David was up and off early to play golf at Leven. 

I just made it downstairs when the doorbell rang and John was on the doorstep.  We'd chatted on the phone yesterday so I was surprised to see him, then I remembered it's David's birthday on Saturday and John normally drops off his birthday gift.  It was a lovely surprise as I didn't think we'd see him till after Christmas as he and Norma are off to Oban for the festive period.  

After tea and pancakes John went to spend some time with Alan who was very happy to see his Grandpa :-)  

John headed off and Lola went out for her walk with R.  He is also walking a younger golden retriever so Lola was very happy.  

I had lunch then got stuck into my favourite recipe books.  I want to make a range of cookies / biscuits to have to hand and to gift over the festive period.  After swithering for ages I have settled on Christmas stars (a lightly spiced biscuit) Bells biscuits (orange and lemon flavour) gingerbread cookies and shortbread.   I will make some on Saturday and some next week.  They can be frozen so very handy to have. 

I was just wrapping D's Christmas pressie from Alan when got a message to say two of Alan's support workers, Jordan and Penny, have tested positive for covid and both are feeling pretty miserable.  I really feel for them as it's the last thing they both need!  They've both been working here this week so I am keeping everything crossed that the virus hasn't spread within the house.  As ever, the rest of the team have rallied round and are doing extra shifts to cover the short fall.  They really are wonderful.

Alan is now on day two of his steroid treatment and seemed a bit brighter today.  Hoping that continues.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.