An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Burns & Old Parish Church...

Over the last week I've had a bit of a niggle in my gum under the back molar on the right side of my mouth.  I did my best to ignore it, convinced it  would go away but it didn't and eating my dinner last night I could barely chew as it was quite painful.  Accepted I would have to phone the dentist this morning.

Phoned at 9am and managed to get an appointment at 10.45am.  My usual dentist wasn't in today so I saw another dentist called Paul.  I was worried that he saw patients in Room 1 as the dentist chair in there is brutal.  When reclined in it I feel as if my head is going to hit the floor and when it's being returned to the upright position it doesn't slowly re-adjust, it pings straight up and feels as if you're being shot from a cannon!  Thankfully he was in Room 4 with a comfy dental chair :-)

After checking my inflamed gum he took an x-ray.  Molars are healthy with no sign of decay and no sign of an abscess.  That was a relief. After further prodding with thumb examination and check of my jaw in general, he concluded I have a jaw muscle strain from clenching my teeth in my sleep.  He recommended a softer diet for a few days and a covered hot water bottle against my face to relax the muscle.  So happy that treatment wasn't needed and reassured I am not going to have raging toothache over the weekend.

The church we were married in isn't far from my dental practice so we took a short detour to pass it.  I can't believe it will be 35 years next August since I stepped in there a Miss and emerged a Mrs.  David thinks it seems much longer!  hahahahahaha!  

That got me thinking about time and dates and I realised it will be 40 years on 21st December since David asked me out at the 6th year School Christmas Dance!  FORTY years!   I shall ponder more on that on 21st (if I remember!  LOL) 

Back home for lunch.  A sandwich using fresh soft bread delivered by Tesco this morning.

The afternoon was spent in the study going over my gift list, checking off what's been wrapped and what I still have to buy.  Just the rest of the vouchers, which can be bought locally, and the wine and Prosecco.  I'm even organised for D's birthday tomorrow having wrapped his gifts earlier in the week but then I couldn't remember where I put his birthday cards (one from me and one from Lola.  Alan organises his own :-)  I spent ages looking everywhere for them.  All the usual drawers and cabinets but to no avail.  So much for buying them early and getting them written in order to be organised! 

Eventually after much searching and swearing out loud under my breath, I found them.  Sitting on my desk right next to where I put my specs down before searching my desk drawers.  It was then I remembered I'd left them on top of my desk  so I wouldn't end up spending ages rummaging through drawers looking for them!  To be fair they were partially covered by some wrapping paper but still!  *rolls eyes*

So we are now approaching the week before Christmas.  This is my favourite time of the whole festive season culminating in Christmas Eve, so I am going to do my best to relax and enjoy it.  D's birthday tomorrow then all being well, lunch at at friend's house on Sunday with Ele and Kenny, who are then coming back to ours for dinner and staying over.  Seeing friend Gill on Tuesday afternoon then out for dinner with Keith and Mairi on Tuesday evening.  Lots to look forward to and I am very thankful :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.