An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Wishing on a star...

Backblip

That 2024 is better than 2023 health wise!

David's birthday got off to a great start not.  

Woke up at 7am then a couple of minutes later I had the most excruciating abdominal pain.  No build up, just as though someone had flipped a switch. Strong painkillers, a hot water bottle and a cup of tea helped (it lasted almost two hours) and I finally fell asleep, exhausted, till 11am.  

I felt wiped out so took it easy and didn't make it downstairs still 5pm by which point I felt a bit better.

I had planned to make spiced biscuits for D's birthday and take some to our friends' tomorrow.  I last made them ten years ago and that should have told me they weren't really worth the effort.   I went ahead and made them.  The taste is lovely (cinnamon, orange and mixed spice.  I went with the orange juice rather than brandy this time :-) but the texture is weird.  They are crunchy at the edges and slightly softer in the middle, which makes them feel as if they are stale.   Hmmmm....they're ok for us to nibble with a coffee but below the standard to give as a gift.  

D's birthday dinner wasn't what I had planned.  He ended up sticking lasagne in the oven and I made a salad.  I will make the planned Delia's chicken with lime and coconut tomorrow night.  

So poor D.  Not a great birthday.  Spent looking after me then forced to eat weird textured biscuits!
 
Fingers crossed his next birthday will be better.

PS Also got a message from D's sister Ele to say she has a tummy bug so she won't make lunch at Alan and Gail's tomorrow or dinner at ours tomorrow evening.  What a shame :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.